Posted in Stories

Perfect. – Part 3.

As the groom helped the bride into the car, I walked over to the best man. Nathan looked a little glum. Maybe he was just tired. It had been a long day.

IMG_2814.JPG

“Well, it’s finally over.” I rubbed his arm absentmindedly as I stared my fill of George before he left for his honeymoon.

“Yes it is, isn’t it?”

Something in his voice compelled me to look at him. He was still staring at the newlyweds. No, not the newlyweds. He was looking at Ella. I recognised the longing in his eyes.

How could I have been so blind? I was so wrapped up in self pity that I’d never noticed that my friend was suffering as I was.

I linked my arm in his and forced a smile.

“Don’t worry, we’ll get through it.”

I think Nathan understood what I said, and why I said it.

As we watched the car drive into the sunset, my heart felt lighter. Other people experienced heartache too. If they could try and move on, I could too. I would move on.

It had been a perfect wedding.

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

2 thoughts on “Perfect. – Part 3.

    1. Neither true nor mine! I’ve been in a mood to write lately, since my new roommate is a writer. Which is why I’ve been putting up poems and stories on the blog! All fiction. I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

