Posted in TV

I Heart The Crown. [No spoilers, don’t worry.]

A relative lull after my exams in January meant that I was ready to get hooked on to a brand new TV series. I have always been a bit of an anglophile. I never got around to watching Downton Abbey, but I was very excited about watching The Crown.

0a5c641e7e2e7050b86ff0dc5d55c7b9acd65ebb

First things first: Hans Zimmer. The main theme is brilliant and really sets the tone for the series. The molten gold that eventually forms the crown seems almost malevolent in the first frame where it looks like the head of a snake.

The first episode is a bit slow, I thought, and I almost stopped watching the series mid-way through the second episode. I’m glad I didn’t. The rhythm and pace of the series do take some getting used to, but then it grips you and never lets you go.

When Prince William and Kate Middleton got married, my mother had let us bunk school to watch the live broadcast. My image of the monarchy is peppered with gold and diamonds and expensive fur. Peter Morgan goes a long way to ensure that the splendor is not what the viewer focuses on. The opening sequence features closeups of the goddamn Kohinoor Diamond, but the black light robs it of any brilliance. The sets are ornate and authentic, yet you never feel awed by Elizabeth Windsor’s wealth. She is in a position of undoubted privilege, but she wears the diamonds like one would wear a work suit. The tone of the first season is melancholic, almost poignant. I must be quite masochistic to watch episode after heartbreaking episode, and yet I couldn’t stop.

I got my roommate hooked on it too, and now she’s quite resentful of the heartache I’ve introduced to her. I have no opinions on the real life family apart from that of a distant viewer. I can’t wait to watch the fictional family again when Season 2 comes in October.

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

4 thoughts on “I Heart The Crown. [No spoilers, don’t worry.]

Leave a Reply

