Posted in Books, The things I like to do.

Stationery Shopping

I went stationery shopping the other day with my mother. I haven’t spent more than five minutes in a stationery shop since I left school, so I was a bit taken aback by just how much I missed it.

7860ab36db02894c653d556fcfd50081

We spent three hours in that giant two-storey store trying out different kinds of pens and rifling through hundreds of notebooks. We checked out the different kinds of paper: craft, wrapping, handmade, watercolor, sketching and what have you. We fiddled with umpteen kinds of pencils and graphites and charcoal. We debated over the best kinds of files and folders. We ogled over acrylics and crayons and quilling material. After going through photograph inks and USB drives and art markers, we moved to envelopes and index cards and rubber stamps.

By the time we came home, we were exhausted and exhilarated. We each had two large shopping bags with us, full of stuff we ‘really actually needed’. I now have more beautiful pens than I will ever use, although I’m sure I’ll go through the stacks of new notebooks and post-its quite quickly. I sometimes wish I had a hobby that needed me to buy some of the fascinating things in the shop, but I’m quite happy with buying everyday stationery if I get to gawk at the other things occasionally.

I had a lot of fun doing this, so I thought I might share my joy here. 🙂

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

One thought on “Stationery Shopping

  1. I love stationery shops! Ever since I was a child I’ve found them seductive. I went into one to buy a notebook yesterday and had to restrain myself from buying heaps of other things.

Leave a Reply

