Posted in Life, Me and moi, The things I like to do., Totally non-scientific theory Tuesday

Totally non-scientific theory Tuesday: Instant gratification works better.

This epiphany is brought to you by the latest worshipper of Pokémon Go.

As a social introvert who dislikes going outside and genuinely hates physical activity, I was initially very skeptical about Pokémon Go. However, I am here to tell you, this thing works.

Pokemon-GO

My mother and my friends have long tried to persuade me to talk to more people; to get out more. ” I’m sure you’ll have fun.” “You will get better at talking to people, I promise.” “This will all be worth it when you step on the scales in 6 months, I swear.”

I’m sure they’re right, but that never really worked for me. What did work was getting Pokémon, hatching eggs, and bonding with the other cheapsters who came to the Pokéstop just because it had a lure module. I did get better at talking to people, but leveling up and winning battles definitely helped me put in the effort. My mother could not believe her ears when I told her I was going to the nearest temple (it was a Pokéstop). My Google Fit has no clue what’s happened to me in the last few days. I’ve made new friends out of old acquaintances, and spent a whole lotta time with my existing ones.

So this is my Totally non-scientific Theory for this Tuesday: Instant gratification works. Take it from someone who’s much happier and healthier for it.

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

9 thoughts on “Totally non-scientific theory Tuesday: Instant gratification works better.

  1. haha. I’m sure that pokemon go was made just to make sure people get fit! if we can’t get them outdoors for fitness let’s get them outdoors for a video game! It’s brilliant!

Leave a Reply

