Posted in Books, The things I like to do.

10 reasons why Shakespeare is so cool. (I know they’re not enough!)

In no particular order.

1.) “In time we hate that which we often fear.”- Antony & Cleopatra

2.) “He who has injured thee was either weaker or stronger than thee. If weaker, spare him. If stronger, spare thyself.” (Actually I’m not sure where this is from. Can anybody help me with that?)

3.) “Love all, trust a few. Wrong no one.”- All’s Well That Ends Well

4.) “I dote on his very absence.”- The Merchant of Venice

5.) “Glory is like a circle in the water, which never ceaseth to enlarge itself, till by broad spreading it disperse to nought.”- King Henry IV

6.) “The devil hath power to assume a pleasing shape.”- Hamlet

7.) “The lady doth protest too much, methinks.”- Hamlet

8.) “They have been at a great feast of languages, and stolen the scraps.”- Love’s Labour Lost

9.) “If all the year would be playing holidays, to sport would be as tedious as to work.”- King Henry IV

10.) No judgement about the good guy/bad guy situation, but, MARK ANTONY’S SPEECH IN JULIUS CAESAR! MARK ANTONY’S SPEECH IN JULIUS CAESAR! Also, his soliloquey after Caesar’s murder. I have a huge crush on him.

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

7 thoughts on “10 reasons why Shakespeare is so cool. (I know they’re not enough!)

  1. I agree. Oh, and I relate to this one as well- “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages.” ! That’s my favourite one because it’s so true ( for me, anyway). 🙂

    1. Oh yeah! I wonder how I forgot to include that. We had this poem as a part of our English curriculum in school, and I loved it. I especially loved
      “And then the lover
      Sighing like furnace,
      with a woeful ballad
      Made to his mistress’ eyebrow.”
      It made me laugh so much! You can’t have too much of Shakespeare.

  2. We had that too!! (wait, did you do CBSE english literature and language for 10th?) We had it as the seven ages, I think.
    Of course you can never have too much of Shakespeare! Suggesting that is just plain ignorance 😀

      1. Ooh, I was lucky, there were people in my class who appreciated Shakespeare. Plus we had a teacher who loved Shakespeare 🙂 I think the best part was getting to study Julius Caesar though! The amount of fun we had with that one- hence the fact that I can relate to your Mark Antony’s speech part 😉 Now, if only he hadn’t fallen for Cleopatra..

      2. If he hadn’t fallen for Cleopatra we wouldn’t have gotten the masterpiece that is Antony and Cleopatra, so I’m glad he did.
        Honestly, after I read Julius Caesar I wanted Antony to win the war. Who cares about good and bad when you have the brilliant Mark Antony around? 😛

Leave a Reply

