Posted in Me and moi, Movies, The things I like to do.

A square peg in a round hole.

I mentioned some of my music favourites in my last blog post. They are unconventional, to say the least. Especially for a person who turned 18 just last month. I don’t mean to say that my likes and dislikes are totally different from people my age, (Harry Potter, duh), but especially when it comes to three things, books, movies and music, I feel like I belong on a different planet. In a different solar system.
I grew up watching a lot of movies, but they never were the ones my peers watched. (After the age of five, that is.) I have seen lots of real classics like Gone with the Wind, Casablanca, To Kill A Mockingbird, Mackenna’s Gold, Singing In The Rain, etc etc. And then different films like Whale Rider (it’s one of my favourites), Mr. Holland’s Opus, Something the Lord Made, Mona Lisa Smile, (I could go on and on but you get the point.) And I loved them. But, as you can imagine, I got a LOT of stares when I started talking about them. So I didn’t.
And then take books. Apart from the fact that just the level of my obsession with reading is abnormal, the books I read are very, very different from the ones my friends do. Sure, I adore romances, but the ones that were published almost 200 years ago. I am reading a Jane Austen novel at any given point of time, and then my other books just come and go in between. The first thing I did when I (finally!) got my Kindle account was scourge through their free popular classics and download anything and everything that I hadn’t read before. I generally tend to read exactly those books which are cursed by millions of students worldwide when they are included in the syllabus. And it does not make me popular.
Which is sad, really. It’s not like I have a problem with what’s going on today. It’s just that I have taken into consideration the things I like and the things I don’t, and the things I like just happened to be created in earlier times. Simple as that.
So, this is the deal. As long as you stand by what you like, and if you like something out of the ordinary course of things, you will be a square peg in a round hole. But you will be you.

P.S. Not to emphasize the whole different thing, but I also read the original, non-Disneyfied version of the Grimm’s fairytales about two months ago. And The Little Red Riding Hood is as clearly a story of assault and murder as a news report can be.

P.P.S. In the original version, no hunter comes to save the little girl, and the ‘wolf’ ‘eats her up’. Woah, what a thing to tell your 3 year old at bedtime.

Author:

Appreciator of all things beautiful. Procrastinator At Large. Lover of animals. 23. Simultaneously too young and too old for her age.

2 thoughts on “A square peg in a round hole.

Leave a Reply

